Custom Text


Senator Creighton’s Groundwater Conservation District Bill Advances

By  | 

On April 24th, Senator Brandon Creighton (R-Conroe) passed legislation out of the Senate Committee on Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs to update the makeup of the Lone Star Groundwater Conservation District (LSGCD) board of directors from appointed to elected.

“After 15 years of existence, we need to change the makeup of the LSGCD board so that all Montgomery County citizens have a voice,” said Senator Creighton.

“It is important that Montgomery County citizens have the ability to elect board members who oversee our most precious resource,” said Senator Creighton. “This legislation not only protects water in the county, but also gives all citizens a voice.”

Senate Bill 2250, joint authored by Senator Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville) changes the makeup of the LSGCD to seven elected board members.

The mission and purpose of LSGCD will remain the same. Fifty-six of 66 single-county groundwater conservation districts are elected board of directors.

Senate Bill 2250 passed out of the Committee on Agriculture, Water & Rural Affairs with a unanimous vote. The bill was sent to the Senate Local & Uncontested Calendar.