Custom Text


Star-Studded Field Taking Shape for 2024 Insperity Invitational in The Woodlands

By  | 

With less than two weeks remaining until the field will be confirmed for the 21st playing of the Insperity Invitational presented by UnitedHealthcare, April 29 – May 5, 2024, tournament officials announced this year’s tee sheet will include six World Golf Hall of Famers along with 17 PGA TOUR major winners.

The legendary line up for the award-winning event is headlined by World Golf Hall of Famers: Ernie Els; Retief Goosen; Vijay Singh; Mark O’Meara; Colin Montgomerie; and José María Olazábal.

“The Woodlands is unbelievable. They have hosted this event here on the PGA TOUR Champions for so long, so I’m always excited to play there,” said Ernie Els, who finished T6 in 2023 for his best finish in his three starts at the Insperity Invitational. “This is a very mature golf course. Its tree lined, water hazards that come into play, so you have to manage your ball very carefully, the par 5s are scoring holes but you’ve got to read the winds. It is a great test, and I am looking forward to getting back out there.”

Tournament officials announced 17 players who have won a Green Jacket, or have their names etched on the U.S. Open Championship Trophy, The Claret Jug or the Wanamaker Trophy will also be on this year’s tee sheet. The distinguished list of some of the game’s most accomplished players also includes: Mark Calcavecchia, Padraig Harrington, Corey Pavin, Darren Clarke, Lee Janzen, Vijay Singh, John Daly, Justin Leonard, David Toms, David Duval, Larry Mize, Mike Weir, Ernie Els, José María Olazábal, Y.E. Yang, Retief Goosen, and Mark O’Meara.

Steven Alker Wins 2023 Insperity Invitational presented by United Healthcare
Steven Alker Wins 2023 Insperity Invitational presented by United Healthcare; Photo provided courtesy of Insperity Invitational

“This incredible group have delivered countless memorable moments in our game throughout their illustrious careers. Having them here to compete in The Woodlands adds many more storylines to our international field,” said Bryan Naugle, Executive Director, Insperity Invitational, who added the Tournament is also privileged to have 17 legends put on a show for Houston Golf Fans on Saturday in the Folds of Honor Greats of Golf, while playing behind what is arguably the strongest field on the PGA TOUR Champions.

“All of these incredible ambassadors for the game of golf are sure to rekindle special memories for all of our spectators, but equally as important, create new ones for young golf fans who take in our event each year.”

The star-studded group will be joined by two-time defending champion, Steven Alker. Competing in his fourth season on the senior circuit, Alker has notched eight victories including one in 2024.

For a complete list of the field to date, please visit The final field will be released on April 27 at 5 p.m. ET

The Insperity Invitational offers free grounds only admission tickets courtesy of Insperity, Woodforest National Bank and Hewlett Packard Enterprise. For updated information on all aspects of the Insperity Invitational, fans are encouraged to visit


A PGA TOUR Champions event, the Insperity Invitational presented by UnitedHealthcare features the world’s premier golfers age 50 and older. With the support of its Official Sponsors: Woodforest National Bank, Hewlett Packard Enterprise, Northside Imports Houston-Alfa Romeo, Pepsi, Sports Radio 610, National Car Rental and Folds of Honor, the Insperity Invitational presented by UnitedHealthcare is managed and operated by Pro Links Sports. The tournament has received the prestigious Presidents Award as the best event on the Champions Tour, the President’s Award for Excellence in Achievement and twice The Players Award for having the “best of everything” for the players, sponsors and spectators. Interfaith of The Woodlands, one of the local charities benefitting from the tournament, was named a PGA TOUR Champions Charity of the Year.  Past champions include Larry Nelson, Jay Haas, Mark McNulty, four-time winner Bernhard Langer, John Cook, Fred Couples, Brad Faxon, Fred Funk, Esteban Toledo, Ian Woosnam, John Daly, Scott McCarron, Mike Weir and back-to-back winner, Steven Alker. For more information about the Tradition of Excellence at the Insperity Invitational, visit, on Instagram @insperityinvitational, Twitter @InsperityInvtnl, or on Facebook at